Getting ready for a wedding.

7:30 am. Alarm one. Mr W and I do not work convential hours  anymore. He works very hard as a sculptor for as many hours as he is awake each day,seven days a week. This gives us flexabily as to when we rise each morning. Most mornings,this alarm or the next at 7:45 is enough to get us going. Except this morning. HG has been too big for his generous sized Moses Basket for a little while now. However I’ve  delayed moving him into his crib as the Moses basket fits next to our bed. Now HG has spoilt us as parents. From when he was six weeks old,he’s pretty much slept through the night-until now.

When we happen to be moving him into the crib. It’s been few fretful long nights. Dummies dropped through the bars, a bump of the head,tooth pain (possibly) It’s all going on. So when the alarm bleeped cheerily at me yesterday morning,my mood did not match its. 

8:00am. Alarm three. Get up,get milk for HG. Thank goodness I’ve finally relaxed enough to make some up bottles in advance so I can sleepwalk downstairs with  HG in tow and one minute later,he has milk. Done.

I ponder breakfast and decide I need a cold fashwasher before food. Back upstairs to roust the husband,collect the empty milk bottles and wash my too tired face.

8:45 am. Mr W is off,he has to assist a friend with firewood collecting and sorting. With strict instructions to return at 11 am sharp.

8:45-9:45 am. Bottle washing,nappy stockpiling,formula spooning ensues. Clothes washing, a reusable nappy sort,wash up. Sweat. A lot. All whilst still pondering outfits and wanting to wear the coolest,sac like item I own. Spend most of this hour trying to get HG to have a nap as I’d like him to not be a total asshat during the ceremony.

9:45-10:30 am. With the baby asleep and Mr W out, I was so tempted to crawl back into bed,I could almost feel the cool sheet as it floated back down onto me. Instead of standing in front of the mirror,trying to control the frizz and work out the coolest hairdo I could have.

10:30-11am. Narrowed it down to three options outfit-wise. Send photos to trusted coterie of advisors. Find jewellery. Apply makeup,fingers crossed it stays put.

11-11:15 am Lay out clothes for HG times two. He’s a barfer. Clothes for Mr W organised. Worry that Mr W isn’t home just yet. Bundle everything but the kitchen sink into various bags. Wake and change the HG repeating my mantra,please don’t barf,please don’t barf… Sweaty husband arrives,rush him into a shower. Pack car,wipe barf off HG’s chin. Check lipstick and we are off.

11:55am. Thank the lord I live in Spain now,so whacking out the fan and vigorously fanning myself looks completely normal. The walk up to the picturesque spot is interesting but not something you want to do for a wedding. Did I mention there was a camera crew from a British reality TV show filming the entire thing??

From there forth it was a lovely,albeit warm day. Filled with love,meeting new friends, wedding wine and cake. The outfit was pretty perfect,flattering,colourful and cool. HG was changed several times over. At one point he was in just a nappy! 

It was our first wedding as a married couple and our first with HG. It’s funny that memories I had forgotten about my own wedding came flooding back. Our first dance,seeing all of our friends. My husbands choicely worded speech.

Tell me your best wedding moment,the one that makes you smile.

Love and loquats

Tiffany.xx

Leave a Reply

